Autism Society Awards
Autism Society Awards recognize exceptional contributions of individuals and organizations that help improve the lives of those with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) in the United States and are presented annually at the Autism Society National Conference.

Award winners are nominated through an internal survey of the Autism Society’s affiliate network and panels, and decided by the Autism Society Awards selection committee.

2016 Awards
Adam Heavner Memorial Award for Business of the Year
Royal Caribbean International / Autism of the Seas

Presented to an organization or company that has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to the autism community through inclusive practices and supports the advancement of individuals on the autism spectrum.

Audrey I. Horne Memorial Award
Wayne Gilpin

Given to an individual or organization that has made an enduring contribution to improving adult services and the quality of life for those individuals living on the autism spectrum.

Autism Society Affiliate of the Year
Autism Society Southern Arizona

Presented to an Autism Society affiliate that has effectively worked together to use its resources and members to positively influence the lives of individuals, parents and professionals coping with autism in their community.

Autism Society Volunteer of the Year
Howard Miller

An award presented to an individual volunteer whose work has positively influenced the lives of individuals, parents and professionals addressing autism in his or her community or nationally.

Dr. Cathy Pratt Award for Autism Professional of the Year
Julie Donnelly

Awarded to a professional in the field of autism who has demonstrated outstanding accomplishment in terms of contributing to the life/lives of individuals with autism and/or to the cause of autism in general.

Dr. Temple Grandin Award for Outstanding Literary Work of the Year
In a Different Key: The Story of Autism by John Donvan and Caren Zucker
NeuroTribes: The Legacy of Autism and the Future of Neurodiversity by Seth Silberman

Any item published or copyrighted within the last five years that positively affects the life of an individual or family member impacted by autism.

Outstanding Advocate of the Year
Ben Hodgin Jr

Awarded to an individual with ASD who has advanced the well-being of others on the spectrum. Criteria: Demonstration of exceptional dedication, effort or achievement. Areas to be considered can include, but should not necessarily be limited to: academics, the arts, athletics, community service, employment, extracurricular activities, transition or independent living, or public policy or systems change efforts.

The Daniel Jordan Fiddle Foundation Leader in Adult Autism Award
Matthew Resnik

Awarded by The Daniel Jordan Fiddle Foundation to an individual or organization that exemplifies The Daniel Jordan Fiddle Foundation vision of showcasing success stories of inspirational accomplishments and in leading society in focusing on the issues concerning adult autism.