The House of Representatives plans to vote on a bill that would severely undermine the foundation of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). H.R. 620, also known as the “ADA Notification” bill, is scheduled to be voted on Thursday, Feb. 15. H.R. 620 would make it harder for people with disabilities to participate in the mainstream of society. It would fundamentally change the structure of the ADA and would eliminate any reason for businesses to comply with the law unless and until they receive a legal notice detailing the violations that have occurred. The measure places the burden of ensuring compliance on people with disabilities rather than on businesses.

It is imperative that advocates focus attention this week on flooding House members’ e-mails, voice mails, and social media with the message that passing H.R. 620 threatens the civil rights of people with disabilities.

Take Action

  • Schedule time to call your Representative today! If you can, call every day between now and the vote on Thursday morning! Call the U.S. Capitol switchboard 202-224-3121 and ask for your Member of Congress or search the online directory.
  • Use the Consortium for Citizens with Disabilities’ Tool Kit for sample talking points and social media messages to help you take action.
  • Spread the word to friends, loved ones, and colleagues and encourage them to share the information with their networks


  • California delegation
  • Illinois delegation
  • Florida delegation
  • Colorado delegation
  • Texas delegation
  • New Mexico delegation
  • Arizona delegation
  • Nevada delegation
  • Oregon delegation
  • Collin Peterson (D-MN)
  • Kurt Schrader (D-OR)
  • Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
  • ​Mark DeSaulnier (D-CA)
  • Daniel Lipinski (​D-IL)
  • Ted Deutch (D-FL)
  • Jim Cooper (D-TN)
  • Jacky Rosen (D-NV)
  • Stephanie Murphy (D-FL)
  • Jared Polis (D-CO)
  • Dwight Evans (D-PA)
  • Mike Doyle (D-PA)
  • Kathleen Rice (D-NY)
  • Terri Sewell (D-AL)
  • Bill Foster (D-IL)
  • Jim Costa (D-CA)
  • Jackie Speier (D-CA)
  • Ami Bera (D-CA)
  • Luis Correa (D-CA)
  • Pete Aguilar (D-CA)
  • Scott Peters (D-CA)
  • Henry Cuellar (D-TX)
  • Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ)